Saturday, October 29, 2016

Snowflake Coloring Pages for Adults

These all came as free samples from the Dover Creative Haven newsletter.  You should sign up - I've amassed a huge collection for all my adult coloring needs!

Here's a folder with 6 snowflake coloring sheets and 4 snowflake mandala coloring sheets. Enjoy!

Wednesday, October 26, 2016

Questions for the Oct 27 #publibchat

First, everyone can check in and introduce themselves (if they choose)

Q1 - Does your library have any policies related to holiday/winter programming?

Q2 - Do you think winter programming should include or exclude holiday-specific programming?

Q3 - Have you had discussions in your library about this issue?

Q4 - Tell us about your favorite winter program!

Q5 - Do you have suggestions for the next few chats?

Some related articles, just in case you're interested:

The Great White Christmas Debate - or - Have a Very Merry Something (Best of Publib)
(This discussion gets kinda contentious, FYI)

Librarians - Check Your Holidays at the Door (Storytime Underground)

Ditch Holiday Programming | Opinion (School Library Journal)

Undecking the Halls: Why Christmas Decorations Do Not Belong in Public Library Spaces.
Lewis, T. (2005). APLIS, 18(4), 137-140. (PDF)

Discover Your Inner Elf: Christmas Programs for Public Libraries
Robertson, G. (2008). Feliciter, 54(5), 222-224. (PDF)

The First #publibchat!

Let's chat about inclusive winter/holiday programming at the first #publibchat 
Thursday Oct 27: 9pm ET / 8pm CT / 7pm MT / 6pm PT 

Topic: inclusive winter/holiday programming // Thursday Oct 27: 9pm ET / 8pm CT / 7pm MT / 6pm PT